top of page
  • Writer's pictureRhea Shah

Veggie Wonders



This is for all you vegetarian’s out there- the hungry ones, the frustrated ones, the clueless ones.


Dear Diary,


If this rant didn’t explain my persona enough, I am a vegetarian foodie, living in London, searching for new dishes to try from street markets to fine dining restaurants. I have been visiting London for over 7 years now, religiously. Over the last year, I have completed my MA in Fashion from London. That’s when this ‘food-gap for veggies’ hit me. Everybody talks about the glass being half empty, but my stomach is full-empty. There’s no negotiating that. London doesn’t seem to understand vegetarian foodies. Every time I search for vegetarian dish reviews, I am directed to the all-vegetarian or worse, all-vegan restaurant list. Let’s be realistic, meat-eaters are not going to come to a Vegetarian-only restaurant, and even if they do, that will not be more than once a month, at most! What does a girl have to do to enjoy a vegetarian meal with her meat-eating friends? Why can you not suggest a restaurant, welcoming to all- meat eaters, seafood lovers and vegetarian munchers?


My research skills have been saturated. However, whenever I searched for restaurants online, it was like playing the lottery. Hit or Miss. Sometimes, I got lucky and the food was amazing, other times I would sit across my friends and try not complaining about the lettuce, onions and bread on my plate. They call that a vegetarian meal? Imagine a rainbow-optimistic scenario where you find a solution; your friend suggests to you a restaurant that has good vegetarian options. Amongst the busy Londoners, your tastebuds are activated, ready to be satisfied with spices, salvation and all things not-salad.


Maybe today is your lucky day, or so you think! You may have tackled problem number one- of finding a suitable restaurant, but for us ‘leaf-eaters’, there are more questions awaiting, more complex than your math test problems. Why don’t the waiters just lettuce be? Every time I enter a restaurant and ask for the vegetarian menu, they ask me if I can eat milk products. Fact for the day: We are vegetarians, not vegans. YES, we can eat dairy products, NO we cannot eat seafood.


That is why I present to you, “Veggie Wonders”. On this online Magazine, I intend on posting specific tasty vegetarian dishes found in versatile restaurants, making your underground, Uber or the latest via-van journey, worth the travel! Tried, tested and tasty.


Yours Starvingly,

Poemsxpassports


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heat Wave

When referring to the power of red, why do people automatically think of red lipstick? Hutong was all about the power of red. From the red lanterns on the walls, to the red Sichuan peppers in the food

bottom of page